Student &
Campus Life

What Is Phi Theta Kappa?

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society of associate-level institutions and programs. According to the organization’s website, their mission is two-fold: recognizing and encouraging academic achievement and providing opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership service and fellowship programming. Membership is granted by invitation only once certain qualifications are met. To qualify, students must have completed 12 to 29 hours of coursework towards an associate degree with a cumulative 3.75 grade point average or more than 30 credit hours with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average. Induction into Phi Theta Kappa empowers these students with a competitive edge. In addition to becoming eligible for over $37 million in scholarship opportunities, they become part of a network of nearly 3 million fellow scholars. Members also enjoy special benefits and discount offers from the organization’s corporate partners such as GEICO and Bank of America. Members graduating from Eastern are recognized during commencement ceremonies and have their membership noted on their college transcript. In Oklahoma, the following colleges award transfer scholarships in varying amounts from $600 per year to $4000 per year: Oklahoma State University, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, East Central University, St. Gregory's University and Tulsa University.

2019 - EOSC's PTK Claims Tenth Consecutive Victory

Oklahoma State Regent Chair Jay Helm (second from right) and Chancellor Glen D. Johnson (far right) present members of Eastern Oklahoma State College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter with an award for winning Oklahoma Campus Compact’s statewide voter-registration drive. The chapter registered an additional 12.2 percent of Eastern’s in-state student population to claim victory in the small institution category, their tenth consecutive win in the annual competition. Present at the December meeting of the State Regents to accept the award are (left to right) Eastern President Dr. Stephen E. Smith, Lawrence Wood, Charles Sorrell, Dacey Hadley-Cloud and advisor Brenda Strange.

Laura Myers awarded National Distinguished Chapter Member award 2011

Laura was named Top 5 Distinguished Chapter Member award for the OK/ARK Region  - in Conway, AR.


Phi Theta Kappa Members participate in many activities on campus and in the community


Don't miss out on a great opportunity. Contact PTK and join today!

2020-2021 Officers:

President - Taylor Chambers, Tushka
VP of Leadership - Avery Hoggard, Ratliff City
VP of Scholarship - Angelica Beck, Holdenville
VP of Service - Alton Jones Jr., McAlester
ESGA Representative: Alton Jones Jr., McAlester


Brenda Strange
Business Division Dean
Computer Information Systems Professor, Department Chair
Mitchell 115B

Kellye Semeski
Computer Information Systems Professor
Mitchell 115A