Top scholars recognized with special luncheon at Eastern


WILBURTON, OK (Dec. 4, 2012) – The best and brightest students at Eastern Oklahoma State College were recently recognized at a luncheon for their academic success.

Eastern President Dr. Stephen Smith hosts the annual luncheon to recognize the college’s top scholars and their commitment to their educational goals. Students in attendance were Regents Academic Scholars, Presidential Leadership Scholars, Academic Scholars or Eastern Opportunity Scholars.

Regents Academic Scholars receive a full tuition waiver, full room waiver and $900 per semester. Students must have an ACT composite score of 29 or higher or 3.7 grade point average and top five percent or hold a class rank of first or second in their high school graduating class. Students will be able to use the scholarship for up to eight semesters and it will follow them to a four-year college or university after graduating from Eastern.

The Presidential Leadership Award is Eastern’s top academic scholarship. It provides a $1,250 tuition waiver and $400 room waiver. Full-time students must maintain a 3.0 grade point average and complete community service to be eligible for the scholarship.

Students who excel academically in high school with at least a 3.2 grade point average qualify for an Eastern Opportunity Scholarship worth $500 per semester. Additional departmental scholarships are awarded to students based on academic excellence, specific degree programs, or participation in athletics or judging teams.

Attending the luncheon were (seated, left to right) Larriann Chambers, Academic Scholar from Tushka; Liana Wagner, Academic Scholar from Poteau; Allison Burns, Academic Scholar from Broken Bow; Haley Cadle, Regents Academic Scholar from Haileyville; Kristen Hollan, Presidential Leadership Scholar from Panola; Lecie Murray, Presidential Leadership Scholar from Caddo; Taylor Glasco, Presidential Leadership Scholar from Kinta; and Sarah Davidson, Presidential Leadership Scholar from Haileyville.

Also attending were (standing, left to right) Ashley Jones, Presidential Leadership Scholar from Choctaw; Reilly Cloud, Presidential Leadership Scholar from Sawyer; Jeanette Gonzalez, Eastern Opportunity Scholar from Wilburton; Cacy Cribbs, Regents Academic Scholar from Wapanucka; Sarah Shero, Academic Scholar from Hartshorne; Mark Bradley Battershell, Academic Scholar from Calvin; Trevor Odom, Academic Scholar from Howe; Daniel Salters, Regents Academic Scholar from Eufaula; Whitney Noel, Presidential Leadership Scholar from Rattan; David Fussnecker, Academic Scholar from Haworth; Justin Morgan, Academic Scholar from Hartshorne; Dillon Brewer, Presidential Leadership Scholar from McAlester; Colby McGee, Academic Scholar from Valliant; and Eastern President Dr. Stephen Smith.

Back to News Listing