Three new members join Eastern Foundation


WILBURTON, OK (Sept. 2, 2014) - The Eastern Oklahoma State College Development Foundation recently welcomed three new members to its board of trustees. Jeff Wimberly, Sara Jane Smallwood and Thomas M. Poteet, III now serve as trustees for the Foundation Board.

Wimberly, a Pittsburg county native and EOSC alumni, has worked for the Public Service Company of Oklahoma in the McAlester and Tulsa districts since 1982. He also currently serves on the McAlester Chamber of Commerce board of directors, the McAlester Country Club board of directors and is actively involved with the McAlester Defense Support Association (MDSA). He and his wife, Anita, have two children.

Born and raised in Clayton, Smallwood currently resides in Durant and is a public policy analyst for the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. Smallwood was also recently named the Promise Zone coordinator for the Choctaw Nation. She attended classes at Eastern, was involved in the theater program as a child and has many relatives that graduated from Eastern. Smallwood earned a bachelor’s degree in agriculture communications from Oklahoma State University and obtained a master’s degree in public policy from Indiana University.

Poteet is the manager of power systems for Devon Energy in Oklahoma City. Before beginning his career at Devon in August of last year, Poteet had various electric utility positions in Missouri and Oklahoma for 18 years. He also would in the telecommunications department at Tinker Air Force Base for 12 years. Poteet attended classes at Eastern from fall of 1978 to the spring of 1980 and then transferred to Oklahoma State University where he earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering. Poteet and his wife, Robin, have two children.

The mission of the EOSC Foundation is to provide philanthropic support of Eastern Oklahoma State College’s efforts to enhance students’ educational opportunities. This year the Foundation provided a total of $212,000 in scholarship awards to 156 Eastern students.

Thomas Poteet III, Vice-Chairman Dr. Janet Wansick, Jeff Wimberly, Foundation Program Administrator Jayna Santine, Chairman Jason Winborn, Secretary Dr. Marsha Gore, Dr. Stephen E. Smith

Back to News Listing