Four finalists named in Eastern Oklahoma State College’s presidential search


WILBURTON, OK (Jan. 13, 2020) – The Eastern Oklahoma State College Board of Regents announced on Friday the names of four finalists in the search for the college’s next president.

EOSC Board of Regents Chair Bobby Mouser said an Application Review Committee chose the finalists from more than 40 candidates who applied for the position. The Application Review Committee is comprised of three members of the EOSC Board of Regents, two vice presidents, the faculty council chair and the staff council chair.

Listed in alphabetical order, the finalists include:

Dr. Randy Harp, Dean for the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources at Texas A&M University-Commerce
Dr. Jay Kinzer, Vice President for Student Services/Athletic Director at Trinity Valley Community College
Dr. Wayne McMillin, Dean of Northwestern Oklahoma State University’s Enid Campus
Dr. Janet Wansick, Vice President of Academic Affairs at Connors State College

Mouser said arrangements are underway for each of the four candidates to visit Eastern in March and April. Each candidate will meet with various committees including students, faculty and staff representatives, as well as alumni and members of the Wilburton and McAlester communities. Feedback from the meetings will be provided to the EOSC Board of Regents for review before the Board’s final interviews and vote on the selection of the president.

Eastern President Dr. Stephen E. Smith announced in September 2019 that the current academic year will conclude his service as president to the college after 13 years. His last scheduled date of employment is June 30, 2020.

Back to News Listing