Forty Eastern students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa this spring


WILBURTON, OK (April 18, 2017) – Forty Eastern Oklahoma State College students were recently inducted into the international honor society Phi Theta Kappa during a campus ceremony in Wilburton.

The students and their friends and families heard presentations by officers of Eastern’s Theta Pi chapter and a congratulatory speech by guest speaker Dr. Janet Wansick, vice president of Academic Affairs. New members were asked to recite the Phi Theta Kappa pledge and a reception immediately followed.

Founded in 1918 at Stephens College, Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society of associate-level institutions and programs. According to the organization’s website, their mission is two-fold: recognizing and encouraging academic achievement and providing opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership service and fellowship programming.

Eastern’s chapter upholds this mission by sponsoring a variety of events to serve their campus and community. Annually the chapter hosts events including a Toys for Tots holiday campaign and a voter registration drive, the latter of which they are proud to boast their seventh consecutive victory in a contest among 23 Oklahoma colleges and universities.

“We are proud to welcome these new members and acknowledge that hard work pays off,” said Brenda Kennedy, chapter advisor and computer information systems professor. “These students demonstrate the core values of our college and it is an honor to recognize their success.”

Membership is granted by invitation only once certain qualifications are met. To qualify, students must have completed 12 to 29 hours of coursework towards an associate degree with a cumulative 3.75 grade point average or more than 30 credit hours with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average.

Induction into Phi Theta Kappa empowers these students with a competitive edge. In addition to becoming eligible for over $37 million in scholarship opportunities, they become part of a network of nearly 3 million fellow scholars. Members also enjoy special benefits and discount offers from the organization’s corporate partners such as GEICO and Bank of America.

Members graduating from Eastern are recognized during commencement ceremonies and have their membership noted on their college transcript.

Those inducted this spring include: Kash Allen, Bunch; Amber Bailey, Bethel; Breanna Beaty, Hartshorne; Donna Bryant, McAlester; Jennifer Burch, McAlester; Tierra Christian, Ada; Camille Collins, Hartshorne; Lexen Cook, McAlester; Mykah Crose, Wilburton; Rylee Denomy, Saskatchewan, Canada; Natalie Eley, Staffordshire, England; Kodye Engle, Stigler; Keely Frazier, Cyprus, Texas; Tori Gillispie, Kiowa; Jarrod Halphen, Tuttle; Clay Hawes, Talihina; Anastasia Herskind, Grand Prarrie, Texas; Hannah Huddleston, McAlester; Zachary Johnson, Nacogdoches, Texas; Amanda Joslin, Ft. Towson; Courtney Keeney, Eagletown; Chance Long, Wister; Winslow Lybrand, Warr Acres; Alissa Maloy, Pittsburg; Rainey Mauzey, Red Oak; Andrew McBride, McAlester; Fredrick Norman, Talihina; Tessia Purvis, Hartshorne; Miranda Raney, Red Oak; Troy Ray, Hartshorne; Philip Scott, Tulsa; Molly Sharp, Wilburton; Austin Simpson, Ada; Kylee Simpson, Tuskahoma; Martin Suarez-James, McAlester; Tyanna Thurman, Antlers; Stanlee Underwood, Red Oak; Anita Vaughan, McAlester; Michaela Williams, Broken Bow and Raeanna Zozula, Hartshorne.

Pictured at the ceremony were (front row, left to right) Amber Bailey, Hannah Huddleston, Breanna Beaty, Tierra Christian, Molly Sharp, Tessia Purvis, Raenna Zozula, Tyanna Thurman, Miranda Raney, Kylee Simpson and Mykah Crose. Middle Row: Andrew McBride, Alissa Maloy, Tori Gillispie, Anastasia Herskind, Natalie Eley, Amanda Joslin, Anita Vaughan and Jennifer Burch. Back Row: Austin Simpson, Chance Long, Rainey Mauzey, Philip Scott, Stanlee Underwood, Troy Ray and Fred Norman.

Back to News Listing