Eastern’s Shelly Joiner named Newman Civic Fellow for community service efforts


WILBURTON, OK (April 25, 2014) – Determined to find solutions for the challenges communities face throughout the country, 15 inspirational students from Oklahoma’s colleges and universities have been named 2014 Newman Civic Fellows in recognition for service to their local communities.

Eastern Oklahoma State College sophomore Shelly Joiner of McAlester was selected for the recognition. Joiner, an environmental science/natural resources major, serves as president of Eastern’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society and is a member of the college’s Honors Program.

For the past two years, Joiner assisted with PTK’s voter registration competition and was instrumental in the success of the weeklong event. PTK members provided a variety of activities designed to raise awareness and register voters. By registering an additional 11.1 percent of Eastern’s student population, the PTK members received first-place honors from Oklahoma Campus Compact in the statewide competition for the fourth consecutive year. Joiner is also actively engaged in the Oklahoma Blue Thumb (OBT) program, a statewide education program dedicated to promoting clean and healthy water ecosystems in Oklahoma. As an active member of OBT, Joiner helps provide the state of Oklahoma with invaluable data through water monitoring.

The Newman Civic Fellows program was established by Campus Compact in honor of co-founder Frank Newman, who dedicated his life to creating opportunities for student civic learning and engagement. The award is designed to recognize college students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for the challenges communities face throughout the country through service, research and advocacy. Each of Oklahoma’s 15 Fellows will receive a $500 scholarship from Oklahoma Campus Compact. Students are nominated by their college or university president.

Joiner joins the group of 197 students from 36 states who comprise this year’s Newman Civic Fellows. Other Oklahoma students selected include Alfa Abame, Southwestern Oklahoma State University; Stephanie Anderson, Connors State College; Cedric Bond, Oklahoma City University; Shannon Fish, Northern Oklahoma College; Corrynn Franklin, East Central University; Robin Goodiron, Rose State College; Rashida Jones-Frazier, Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City; Lucy Mahaffey, University of Oklahoma; Cody McPherson, Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology; Charles McQuigg, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College; Faith Mincher, Southwestern Christian University; Kylie Pethoud, Northwestern Oklahoma State University; Elizabeth Rodriguez, University of Central Oklahoma; and Taylor Scalf, Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

“The State Regents commend each of these students for the difference they make in the lives of others by consistently giving back to their communities,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. “Their civic leadership is an excellent example of the positive impact that can be made by one person. We extend our best wishes to each of the honorees as they complete their higher education and continue to serve their fellow Oklahomans.”

Eastern sophomore Shelly Joiner (left center) has been named a Newman Civic Fellow for her community service efforts. She was joined at a special recognition event on April 24 by (left to right) Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education (OSRHE) Chancellor Glen D. Johnson, Eastern professor and PTK Advisor Brenda Kennedy and OSRHE Board Chair Jimmy Harrel.

Back to News Listing