Eastern's PTK Society claims victory in statewide voter registration contest


WILBURTON, OK (Nov. 13, 2012) – Eastern Oklahoma State College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society recently received first-place honors from Oklahoma Campus Compact for winning a statewide voter registration competition.

Student PTK members registered an additional 8.1 percent of Eastern’s student population to win. During the five-day competition, 24 participating colleges and universities registered a total of 3,880 new voters. The winning institutions will be recognized during a Dec. 6 meeting of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

Established in 2000 as part of the Oklahoma Campus Compact, the object is to increase student civic engagement on Oklahoma college campuses.

The competition is comprised of three categories based on full-time student populations. Eastern is in the RED category with state universities and colleges with 1-3,000 FTE (full-time-equivalent students). The runner-up for the RED category was Seminole State College with 4.6 percent of its student population.

The WHITE category (3,001-7,000 FTE) winner was Cameron University with 6.3 percent, followed by Northern Oklahoma College with 5.5 percent. The University of Central Oklahoma led the BLUE category (7,001-30,000 FTE) with 7.9 percent of their student population registering to vote, followed by the University of Oklahoma with 3.5 percent.

Eastern’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society recently led a winning effort to register students to vote during a statewide competition. Officers include (l to r) Whitney Noel of Rattan, Haley Cadle of Haileyville, Taylor Glasco of Kinta, Brittan Raines of Red Oak, Allison Burns of Broken Bow, Khyria Vires of Haileyville, and Bradley Battershell of Calvin.

Back to News Listing