Eastern’s PTK Society claims sixth consecutive victory in statewide voter registration contest


WILBURTON, OK (Dec. 22, 2015) – Eastern Oklahoma State College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society recently earned its sixth consecutive victory in Oklahoma Campus Compact’s statewide voter registration competition.

Eastern PTK members registered an additional 12.8 percent of Eastern’s student population to take home the top award in the small institution category. Members Kelsey Brown and Kareesa Kennedy of Buffalo Valley, Kelsey Chambers of Tushka, and Zach Torres of Melissa, Texas accepted the award at a ceremony during the December meeting of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

This year’s competition set a new record for an off-election year. Twenty-three Oklahoma colleges and universities participated, registering 3,399 in-state and out-of-state students to vote.

The competition is comprised of three categories based on full-time student populations. Eastern is in the RED category for state universities and colleges with 1-3,000 FTE (full-time-equivalent students). The runner-up for the RED category was Western Oklahoma State College with 5.1 percent of its students registered.

The WHITE category (3,001-7,000 FTE) winner was East Central University with 11.6 percent, followed by Northern Oklahoma College with 7.8 percent. The University of Central Oklahoma led the BLUE category (7,001-30,000 FTE) with 3.8 percent of their student population registering to vote, followed by the University of Oklahoma with 3.0 percent.

Two additional categories award colleges and universities for the most out-of-state students registering to vote in their states. The University of Oklahoma registered 134 out-of-state students for the highest number for the LIBERTY award. Murray State College registered the highest percentage of out-of-state students at 10 percent to capture the EQUALITY award.

Oklahoma Campus Compact is an organization of 38 public and private colleges and universities focused on the importance of civic responsibility.

Representatives of Eastern Oklahoma State College receive award from Chancellor Glen Johnson (left) and State Regents Chair Gen. Toney Stricklin (right) at the December State Regents meeting. Pictured are faculty members Brenda Kennedy and Kellye Semeski, with students Kelsey Brown, Kelsey Chambers, Kareesa Kennedy and Zach Torres.

Back to News Listing