Eastern’s PTK Society claims fifth consecutive victory in statewide voter registration contest


WILBURTON, OK (Jan. 5, 2015) – Eastern Oklahoma State College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society recently earned its fifth consecutive victory in Oklahoma Campus Compact’s statewide voter registration competition.

Eastern PTK members registered an additional 11.2 percent of Eastern’s student population to win in the small institution category. Members Erin Frazier and Hayley Myers of Wilburton, Jordan Holder of McAlester and Sherry Holman of Broken Bow accepted the award at a ceremony during a December meeting of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

Twenty-one Oklahoma colleges and universities participated in the competition, registering 3,312 in-state and out-of-state students to vote. More than 27,000 students have been registered to vote as part of the contest since its inception in 2003.

The competition is comprised of three categories based on full-time student populations. Eastern is in the RED category for state universities and colleges with 1-3,000 FTE (full-time-equivalent students). The runner-up for the RED category was Carl Albert State College with 8.2 percent of its students registered.

The WHITE category (3,001-7,000 FTE) winner was East Central University with 6.8 percent, followed by Northern Oklahoma College with 5.3 percent. The University of Central Oklahoma led the BLUE category (7,001-30,000 FTE) with 4.9 percent of their student population registering to vote, followed by the Oklahoma State University with 2.6 percent.

Two new categories were introduced to the competition this year for out-of-state students registering to vote in their states. Eastern registered the highest percentage of out-of-state students at 0.1 percent to capture the EQUALITY award. The University of Oklahoma registered 101 out-of-state students for the highest number for the LIBERTY award.

Oklahoma Campus Compact is an organization of 38 public and private colleges and universities focused on the importance of civic responsibility.

EOSC students (front row, left to right) Sherry Holman, Haley Myers, Erin Frazier and Jordan Holder receive the group’s fifth consecutive first-place award in Oklahoma Campus Compact’s statewide voter registration competition from Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education Chancellor Glen D. Johnson. Also pictured are (back row, left to right) PTK Advisor and instructor Brenda Kennedy, State Regents Chair Michael C. Turpen, EOSC instructor Kellye Semeski and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Karen Harrison.

Back to News Listing