Eastern’s PTK Society claims eighth consecutive victory in statewide voter registration contest


WILBURTON, OK (Jan. 12, 2018) – Eastern Oklahoma State College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society recently earned its eighth consecutive victory in Oklahoma Campus Compact’s statewide voter registration competition.

Members of Eastern’s Theta Pi chapter registered an additional 10.9 percent of Eastern’s student population to claim victory in the small institution category. PTK officers Sophia Bullard, Zane Johnson, Miranda Raney and Stanlee Underwood accepted the award at a ceremony during the December meeting of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education.

This year’s competition included 20 Oklahoma colleges and universities, and resulted in 1,994 in-state and 83 out-of-state new registered voters.

The competition is comprised of four categories based on full-time student populations. Eastern is in the DEMOCRACY category for state universities and colleges with 1-1,500 FTE (full-time-equivalent students). The runner-up for the DEMOCRACY category was Western Oklahoma State College with 4 percent of its students registered.

The LIBERTY category (1,501-3,000 FTE) winner was Langston University with 6 percent. The EQUALITY category (3,001-7,000 FTE) was declared a tie between East Central University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University with both institutions registering 6.8 percent of their student population. The INDEPENDENCE category (7,001-30,000 FTE) was won by the University of Central Oklahoma with 1.1 percent.

Two additional categories award colleges and universities for the most out-of-state students registering to vote in their states. Eastern registered the highest percentage of out-of-state students at 9.9 percent to claim the STRIPES Award. The University of Oklahoma won the STARS Award by registering 32 out-of-state students to vote, the highest number of a participating institution.

Campus Compact is a national coalition of nearly 1,200 colleges and universities committed to campus-based civic engagement. Oklahoma Campus Compact works with the national office to prepare students for a life of engaged citizenship through involvement in community service and learning.

Representatives of Eastern Oklahoma State College receive an award from Chancellor Glen Johnson (second from left) and State Regents Chair Ronald H. White (far right) at the December State Regents meeting. Pictured are (left to right) EOSC faculty Brenda Kennedy, Chancellor Johnson, EOSC students Stanlee Underwood, Zane Johnson, Miranda Raney, Sophia Bullard and Chairman White.

Back to News Listing