Eastern’s former Agriculture Division Dean receives Governor’s Public Service Award


Representative Brian Renegar, Leland Walker, Senator Larry Boggs and Secretary of Agriculture Jim Reese are pictured at the State Capitol during Walker’s presentation of the Governor’s Public Service Award.
WILBURTON (April 21, 2015) – Eastern Oklahoma State College’s longtime Agriculture Division Dean Leland Walker recently received the Governor’s Outstanding Public Service in Agriculture Award.

After teaching agriculture at two high schools, Walker began his career at Eastern in 1984 as a plant and soil science instructor. In four years he was named the agriculture division chair. During his tenure at Eastern, he was named teacher of the year 13 times and earned the inaugural President’s Excellence in Teaching Award in 2010.

Walker has coached eight collegiate national champion soils judging teams and one national champion crops judging team. He began teaching agriculture education at Wilburton High School and transformed it into a national three star chapter in only two years.

After 39 years of teaching and mentoring, more than 70 current agriculture instructors in the state of Oklahoma were taught under Walker’s leadership. Many more of his students have moved to other states and are involved in the agriculture industry. Walker retired from public education in 2014.

Through leadership, work ethic and his love for the agriculture industry, Walker was selected by Governor Mary Fallin’s selection committee for the Public Service Award. The committee was chaired by Secretary of Agriculture Jim Reese and consisted of representatives from agriculture and ranch organizations.

Back to News Listing