Eastern to celebrate the holiday season with joint theatre and music productions on Dec. 6


WILBURTON, OK (Dec. 1, 2015) – It’s time to celebrate the holiday season with a joint theatre and music production at Eastern Oklahoma State College on Sunday, Dec. 6. Eastern will present “It’s a Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play" and the 89th Annual Candlelighting program beginning at 2 p.m. in Mitchell Auditorium in Wilburton. The event is free and open to the public.

Written by Joe Landry and inspired by the classic American film, “It's a Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play” is performed as a 1940s live radio broadcast in front of the audience. Actors will perform the dozens of characters in the radio play as well as produce the sound effects. Directed by EOSC theatre director and instructor Sarah Klocke, the play will begin at 2 p.m.

The main characters of George and Mary will be played by Austin Graham of McAlester and Reagen Brinlee of Wilburton. The ensemble cast will feature Kayla Carr of Eufaula; Tarius Dawson of Lockhart, Texas; Monique Ball of Wilburton; Angel Bonilla of Idabel; and Madeline Kraft of Savanna. Kaylinn Dawson of Haileyville is the sound effects master.

Following the radio play, there will be a short intermission with light refreshments available for the audience.

The Candlelighting service, which will begin at approximately 3:30 p.m., will feature performances by the Eastern Concert Band and Concert Choir, as well as the Eastern Expressions, a student-led rock band now in its second year. Dr. Brandon Hendrix, Eastern’s director of instrumental and choral ensembles, will direct the performance.

The performance will include a variety of holiday selections including “A Charlie Brown Medley,” “Christmas Star,” “How Like a Winter,” “O Holy Night,” “Please Come Home for Christmas,” “Silent Night,” and more.

Performers for the Candlelighting include Reagen Brinlee, Lacy Dunlap and Chance Reeves of Wilburton; Madeline Kraft of McAlester; Charlie Green and Shirlene Green of Hartshorne; Christopher Ainsworth of Gowen; Trevor McBane of Savanna; Victoria Cole, Anna Little of Kiowa; Kayla Carr, Julianne De Pré and Kyle Shelton of Checotah; Morgen Dockray of Eufaula; Zana Johnson and Joshua Sexton of Kinta; Charline Morrison of Heavener; Nicholos Martindale of Howe; Rebecca Needham of Clayton; Hunter Lasater of Wagoner; Igor Leal of Padrao, Brazil.

Back to News Listing