Eastern students inducted into academic honor society Phi Theta Kappa during spring 2019 semester


WILBURTON, OK (April 24, 2019) – Thirty-two academically high-achieving students were recently inducted into the national honor society Phi Theta Kappa during a campus ceremony in Wilburton.

The society was founded in 1918 and is recognized as the official honor society of associate-level institutions and programs. According to its website, the mission of Phi Theta Kappa is two-fold: recognizing and encouraging academic achievement and providing opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership service and fellowship programming.

Eastern’s Theta Pi chapter upholds this mission by sponsoring a number of events and initiatives to serve their campus and community. These efforts include an annual Toys for Tots campaign and voter registration drive. Recently, the chapter claimed its eighth consecutive victory in a contest among 20 Oklahoma colleges and universities by registering 10.9 percent of the in-state student population to vote. The chapter also registered the highest proportion of out-of-state students at 9.9 percent.

“We are proud to welcome these new members and honor their success,” said Brenda Kennedy, chapter advisor and dean of the Business Division. “These students have proven themselves to be competent young adults who embody the values of our college and organization.”

Membership is granted by invitation once certain academic qualifications are met. To qualify, students must have completed 12 to 29 hours of coursework towards an associate degree with a cumulative 3.75 grade point average or more than 30 credit hours with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average.

Kennedy said induction into Phi Theta Kappa empowers these students with a competitive edge. In addition to becoming eligible for over $37 million in scholarship opportunities, they become part of a network of nearly three million fellow scholars. Members also enjoy special benefits and discount offers from the organization’s corporate partners such as GEICO and Bank of America.

Members graduating from Eastern are recognized during commencement ceremonies and their membership is noted on official college transcripts.

Those inducted this spring include: Jordan Bailey, Wilburton; Haylee Boatright, McAlester; Caleb Brannon, McAlester; Regina Byrd, Haileyville; Alpha Diallo, Bignona, Ziguinchor, Senegal; Jennifer Dickinson, Wilburton; Kendrie Escoe, Bethany; Dacey Hadley-Cloud, Cameron; Bryson Hale, Krebs; Nathan Hardin, Bethel; Daniel Huerta-Gonzalez, Gijon, Spain; Marc-Antoine Huzan, Paris, France; Amanda Johnson, Tuskahoma; Justin Jones, McAlester; Daniel Krolikowski, Telford, Pennsylvania; Tracy Martin, Red Oak; Sierra McCammon, McAlester; Mariah Noah, Heavener; Lindsey Old, McAlester; Alicia Piper, Red Oak; Eneily Rodriguez, Fresno, Texas; Mary Elizabeth Rosenow, Wilburton; Shade Sheffield, Lane; Charles Sorrell, Wilburton; Jaleah Taylor, Freeport, Grand Bahama, Bahamas Islands; Savanna Taylor, Wilburton; Marcus Tubbs, Wilburton; Ryan Walker, Atoka; Morgan Wilcox, Talihina; Kenan Williams, Cape Town, South Africa; Tanner Wofford, Allen; Lawrence Wood, Wilburton.

Eastern students granted membership into Phi Theta Kappa gather together following their induction ceremony. Those inducted include (front row, left to right): Morgan Wilcox, Mary Rosenow, Mariah Noah, Haylee Boatright, Amanda Johnson, Tracy Martin, (second row) Dacey Hadley-Cloud, Ryan Walker, Lindsey Old, Aicia Piper, Lawrence Wood, Eneily Rodriguez, (third row) Jennifer Dickinson, Regina Byrd, Tanner Wofford, Marc-Antoine Huzan, Bryson Hale, Kenan Williams, Jordan Bailey, (back row) Savanna Taylor, Nathan Hardin, Marcus Tubbs, Alpha Diallo, Daniel Huerta and Caleb Brannon.

Back to News Listing