Eastern students inducted into academic honor society


WILBURTON, OK (Jan. 8, 2018) – Twenty-nine academically high-achieving students were recently inducted into the national honor society Phi Theta Kappa during a campus ceremony in Wilburton.

The society was founded in 1918 and is recognized as the official honor society of associate-level institutions and programs. According to their website, Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is two-fold: recognizing and encouraging academic achievement and providing opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership service and fellowship programming.

Eastern’s Theta Pi chapter upholds this mission by sponsoring a number of events and initiatives to serve their campus and community. These efforts include an annual Toys for Tots campaign and voter-registration drive. Recently, the chapter claimed their eighth consecutive victory in a contest among 20 Oklahoma colleges and universities by registering 10.9 percent of the in-state student population to vote. The chapter also registered the highest proportion of out-of-state students at 9.9 percent.

“We are proud to welcome these new members and honor their success,” said Brenda Kennedy, chapter advisor and dead of the business division. “These students have proven themselves to be competent young adults who embody the values of our college and organization.”

Membership is granted by invitation once certain academic qualifications are met. To qualify, students must have completed 12 to 29 hours of coursework towards an associate degree with a cumulative 3.75 grade point average or more than 30 credit hours with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average.

Induction into Phi Theta Kappa empowers these students with a competitive edge. In addition to becoming eligible for over $37 million in scholarship opportunities, they become part of a network of nearly 3 million fellow scholars. Members also enjoy special benefits and discount offers from the organization’s corporate partners such as GEICO and Bank of America.

Members graduating from Eastern are recognized during commencement ceremonies and have their membership noted on their college transcript.

Those inducted this fall include: Leila Aaron, Wilburton; Regan Boggs, Canadian; Triston Boling, Gowen; Hailey Braswell, Hartshorne; Lauren Coggin, McAlester; Michelle Coker, Keller, Texas; Bryanne Coody, Wilburton; Kelsy Cunningham, Stuart; Nathan Davis, Mountain View; Kristin Eller, Indianola; Kaylen Forehand, McAlester; Jonathan Giddens, Broken Bow; Kristen Houston, Tuskahoma; Madison Hughes, Elk City; Madeline Jarrett, McAlester; Skyler Jones, Wilburton; Marra Juarez, Red Oak; Martin Juventus, Wilburton; Chase Kennedy; McAlester; Rachil Needham, Quinton; Jake Patterson, Ardmore; Shalesa Pink, Alderson; Donald Posey, Wilburton; Augusta Reagan, McAlester; Ariana Riley, Porter; Ashley Self, Antlers; Brooke Sharp, Krebs; Adisyn Webster, McAlester; and Elisabeth Wilson, Quinton

Eastern students granted membership into Phi Theta Kappa posed together following their induction ceremony. Those inducted include (front row, left to right): Bryanne Coody, Skyler Jones, Marra Juarez, Kelsy Cunningham, Lauren Coggin, Adisyn Webster, Augusta Reagan, Elisabeth Wilson, Brooke Sharp, Madeline Jarrett, (middle row) Madison Hughes, Shalesa Pink, Martin Juventus, Rachil Needham, Kaylen Forehand, Michelle Coker, Kristin Eller, Reagan Boggs, Hailey Braswell, (back row) Leila Aaron, Kristin Houston, Ariana Riley, Jonathan Giddens, Jake Patterson and Triston Boling.

Back to News Listing