Eastern nursing students recognized as 2019 Puterbaugh Scholars


WILBURTON, OK (Feb. 25, 2019) – Eastern Oklahoma State College recently recognized 12 nursing students as recipients of the annual Puterbaugh Scholarship.

The Puterbaugh Foundation Nursing Scholarship was established in 1989 through the J.G. Puterbaugh Foundation in McAlester. The Foundation provides annual scholarships for students in Eastern’s registered nursing program. This year’s scholarship awards totaled $4,200. In addition, the J.G. Puterbaugh Foundation also provides scholarship funding for all nursing students to take the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX), the licensing exam for nursing graduates, upon completion of their associate degrees.

“Eastern’s Puterbaugh scholars are considered the top nursing students in our program, so this is quite an honor for these dedicated students,” said Gina Bullock, director of Eastern’s nursing program. “We greatly appreciate the Puterbaugh Foundation for its support and investment in the education of these future health care providers.”

This year’s sophomore recipients include Samantha Bridge, McAlester; Dante Miller, Durant; Brittany Odell, Kiowa; Brandon Parks, Wilburton; Devin Rongey, Clayton; Chelsea Stiles, Pittsburg; and Anita Vaughan, McAlester. Freshman nursing students earning the scholarship include Emily Hoffman, McAlester; Victoria Howell, Poteau; Kristen Scott, Tuskahoma; Shyla Surginer, McAlester; and Natassia Zink, Wilburton.

The Puterbaugh Foundation was created by Jay Garfield Puterbaugh to provide grants benefiting Oklahoma education, health care, medical research, youth and children’s programs and other projects to enhance the quality of life in Oklahoma. Puterbaugh moved to McAlester in 1902 as the vice president and general manager of the newly formed Consolidated McAlester Coal Company, which later became the successful McAlester Fuel Company. Puterbaugh was heavily involved in civic life in McAlester and gave liberally to charitable causes and local improvement projects. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 1950. Before his death in 1965, he founded the Puterbaugh Foundation which continues to carry out his philanthropic mission.

Eastern nursing students (left to right) Victoria Howell, Shyla Surginer, Emily Hoffman, Kristen Scott and Natassia Zink were recently recognized as freshmen recipients of the annual Puterbaugh Scholarship.

Eastern nursing students (back, left to right) Brandon Parks, Samantha Bridge, Dante Miller, (row 2) Chelsea Stiles, Devin Rongey, Brittany Odell and (front) Anita Vaughan were recently recognized as the sophomore recipients of the annual Puterbaugh Scholarship.

Back to News Listing