Alumni & Friends

Alumni Association Hall of Fame

Co-sponsored by Eastern Oklahoma State College and the Eastern Oklahoma State College Alumni Association, the Alumni Hall of Fame was created to honor former Eastern students who have distinguished themselves by making considerable contributions in their field. The first three honorees were approved for induction as charter members of the Alumni Hall of Fame in 1988. The Hall of Fame program ended in 2016 and was replaced with the Distinguished Alumnus Award program that is presented annually at the Sapphire Ball.

Those considered for induction attended Eastern Oklahoma State College and achieved professional excellence. They are also distinguished community leaders who possess high character. Eastern has many fine graduates and the individuals honored serve as an inspiration to us all.

Hall of Fame Inductees


 George Nigh  Oklahoma Governor/Former President, University of Central Oklahoma
 Dr. E.T. Dunlap  Former Chancellor, Okla. Higher Ed./Former President, Eastern Oklahoma A&M     
 Scott Salmon  Nationally Recognized Choreographer


 Dr. Rita Smith Kipp  Author/Professor/Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, University of the South
 J.D. Williams  Attorney/Lobbyist


 Dr. Billy A. West  Research Scientist, National Center for Disease Control 


 Sidney M. Carney  Educator, Accountant, Retired as Four-State Area Director, Bureau of Indian Affairs 


 Ross Harlan  Retired U.S. Air Force Lt. Col./Retired Okla. Gas & Electric Co. Senior Vice President


 Frank. W. Murphy  Founder of Frank. W. Murphy MFC


 Harold Lee Gammon  Sports Journalist


 Dr. Don Parham  Educator/Athletic Director/Civic Leader


 Dr. Robert H. Purcell  Research Scientist for National Institute of Health


 Dr. Charles Montgomery  Director of the Center for Comparative Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine


 Dr. R. Henry Migliore  Educator/Consultant/Author


 James F. Howell  Attorney/Judge/State Senator/Civic Leader


 Guy L. Curry  Engineer/Educator/Consultant


 Ken Brasfield  Corporate and Community Leader


 Dr. Sue Ellen Read  Educator/Administrator/Mental Health Professional


 Charles W. Davidson  Civic Leader/Construction & Property Management
 John H. Hendrix  President & Chairman of Education & Financial Boards


 Ray Henson  Educator/Administrator/Civic Leader


 Tom Colbert  Attorney/Oklahoma Supreme Court Justice


 Don R. Adkins  National Figure for Boy Scouts of America


 Dr. Bill S. Cole  Retired President, ECU/Civic Leader


 Col. William H. Lewark  Retired Air Force/Civic Leader


 Sam L. Sibert  NBA Athlete/Corporation CEO


 Evelyn Jo Whisehunt Guthery  Boeing Engineer/Space Shuttle Mission Manager


 E. Gerald Cound  Executive Director, Village Commons/Founder, Crossroads Green


 Stanley Funderburg  Teacher/Coach/Businessman


 Dr. Delana Taylor McNac
 Veterinarian/Hospice Chaplain/Founder, Pet Peace of Mind


 Edward Stokes
 Project Manager, ConocoPhillips


 Bill White
 Retired, Oklahoma Corporation Commission and Oklahoma National Guard


 Leland Walker
 Retired, Dean and Professor of Agriculture at EOSC